Cal Humanities

"Part of resilience is finding joy, finding beauty, finding love."

— George Takei, Actor, Author, Director, Activist

"Part of resilience is finding joy, finding beauty, finding love."

— George Takei, Actor, Author, Director, Activist

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

BROADCAST PREMIERE—GEOGRAPHIES OF KINSHIP

May 19 @ 5:00 pm7:00 pm

Still from GEOGRAPHIES OF KINSHIP WORLD CHANNEL—The national broadcast premiere of GEOGRAPHIES OF KINSHIP is Thursday, May 19 as part of America Reframed on public television’s WORLD Channel. In this powerful tale about the rise of Korea’s global adoption program, four adult adoptees return to their country of birth and recover the personal histories that were lost when they were adopted.  GEOGRAPHIES OF KINSHIP weaves together the complex personal histories of four adult adoptees born in South Korea with the rise of the country’s global adoption program. Raised in foreign families, each adoptee sets out on a journey to return to their country of birth and map the geographies of kinship that bind them to a homeland they never knew. Along the way there are discoveries and dead ends, as well as mysteries that will never be unraveled. As the four adoptees search for a sense of self, belonging and purpose, they also come to question the policies and practices that led South Korea to become the largest “sending country” in the world – with 200,000 children adopted out to North America, Europe and Australia. Emboldened by their own experiences, the four courageously become advocates for birth family and adoptee rights, support for single mothers, and historical reckoning. Trailer: https://worldchannel.org/episode/america-reframed-geographies-of-kinship/
  Thursday, May 19 8pm ET / 7pm CT / 5pm PT Check your local listings for WORLD Channel. This film is supported by a California Documentary Project grant.