Home / Blog / Nominations Open for AASLH Leadership in History Awards

Nominations Open for AASLH Leadership in History Awards

The American Association for State & Local History (AASLH) invites nominations for the 2020 Leadership in History Awards. Now in its 75th year, the awards program is the most prestigious national recognition for achievement in the preservation and interpretation of local, state, and regional history.

The AASLH Leadership in History Awards recognize exemplary work completed by historical societies, museums, libraries, archives, academic classes or departments, cultural institutions, foundations, and organizations outside the field of traditional historical agencies.

Awards are given for exhibits, public programming, multimedia and special projects, publications, individual achievement, and more. Nominees need not be members of AASLH to qualify. See a list of 2019 winners.

  • Info Video
    • To learn about the program and why you should apply, no matter what your budget size, and get tips for how to put together an award-winning nomination, watch this video of the informational webinar from 2018 which will give you an overview of the program, as well as providing tips for submitting a nomination (54 minutes).
  • Live Q&A
    • Join January 14 for a FREE live webinar with the AASLH awards team for a chance to ask questions and get tips for how to navigate the awards nomination process. Register.
  • Deadlines
    • February 1, 2020: Publication category and Award of Distinction nominations due.
    • March 1, 2020: All other award categories nominations due.

For more information and to apply, visit AASLH’s website.

Check Also

California Humanities logo

Celebrating Intersections Between the Humanities & Poetry: A Look at Recent Grantee Projects

Recent grantee projects that utilize poetry to connect to the humanities.